Let There Be Light

hyde-hall-light

By, Nan Claire Falkner

At the turn of the last century, Thomas Alva Edison invented the electric light bulb, making it possible for the first time to light up the world at night.

“It’s a miracle!” screamed the guests at the party, “You are a genius, Mr. Edison!”

It had taken him years to find the right filament that would last more than just a few minutes, called tungsten.

At the 1904 World’s Fair, in Saint Louis, Edison’s invention, the incandescent light bulb, lit up the fair at night. People were so amazed it frightened some because there was so much bright light.

16 thoughts on “Let There Be Light

  1. Oh … You have become a History teacher. History is one school subject that I was interested in. I always found history fascinating. However, “fascinating” didn’t mean “good grades”, ha.

  2. I still find electricity pretty amazing–especially when we didn’t have it for 11 days after the 2009 ice storm. It gave me a whole new appreciation for flipping a switch.

    • I remember that storm and the people who didn’t have electricity were so inconvenienced! I didn’t know you were without electricity for 11 days. Wow, that is like being a nomad.

  3. That must have been so fascinating, like magic! I still just take electricity for granted. We need it for everything. Here we have the beginnings of it all with your story. Well done, Nan.

  4. Hi, Nan! Yes, the light bulb certainly did turn our world upside down.

    By the way, please accept my apologies for being rather negligent in my reading and commenting of late. Oddly, reading isn’t my strong suit, which means the recreational reading gets shoved off my plate when I’m busy with work, family and such. But I shall try to do better.

    All my best,
    MG

    • Don’t worry about reading my stuff – just if you can – I know you all are so busy with your real life stuff – me too sometimes. I just read your story a minute ago and it was grand as usual! Thanks, Nan 🙂

    • Dear Sandra, Yes we do and take it for granted, just like you said. I’m glad I didn’t live in a time of no computers and lights and cars, planes and trains. I think my children’s generation will be greater and the grandkids – wow, they are all set. Life has been a ball and I mean it – fun, fun, fun, ’till your daddy takes your TBird away as the Beach Boys sang. Nan 🙂

  5. Dear Sandra, Yes we do and take it granted, just like you said. I’m glad I didn’t live in a time of no computers and lights and cars, planes and trains. I think my children’s generation will be greater and the grandkids – wow, they are all set. Life has been a ball and I mean it – fun, fun, fun, ’till your daddy takes your TBird away as the Beach Boys sang. Nan 🙂

    • Dear Micklively, You are absolutely right! There were several others before Edison, but, Edison was the first one to develop a practical and commercially viable light-bulb.” Thanks for enlightening me! Nan

  6. Good story, Nan. I’m reading this and for the last two days our electricity has been going off about four times a day for two-hour stretches. Believe me, I appreciate it when we have it. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

