The Secret of the Harbor

The Secret of the HarborBy, Nan Claire Falkner

Chris was catching up. If only she could reach the Harbor. Holding onto the map for dear life, she made it and looked back smiling as he knocked over a street vendor. Quickly she took her jacket off turning it inside out. She pulled the wig out of her bag, put it on quickly and grabbed a cigarette. Exhaling, she ordered a vodka tonic from the waiter. Tonight she could sleep. Unrolling the map Amy looked at the statue pointing toward the treasure. “I understand!” she laughed.

She felt a warm kiss on her neck. “We’ll work together” he whispered.

44 thoughts on “The Secret of the Harbor

  1. Dear Nan,

    Chris doesn’t sound like a bad sort. I wonder why she was running away from him.

    I agree with Tracey on the tense confusion. You should be able to edit. I’ve gone back many times in a story and even some of my comments and edited them.

    Good story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear Rochelle, Thanks and I did make the change. We have total chaos going on here. Our son and his wife and their son are staying with us for 2 weeks until their new house is finished. They built a handicap house with zero entry level for Mason who has Cerebral Palsy. Mike left my picture off when he posted my story and I don’t think there’s anyway to fix it. Thanks again Nan

    • Dear Patrick, I don’t know why so many statues point but maybe they know something we don’t know! I agree with your Mum! Thanks for stopping by! Nan 🙂

  2. Hah, something tells me that this isn’t the last chase she’ll going to give Chris. This sounds like a great, romantic action story. Very fun take on the prompt.

    • She is pretty smart and quick thinking on her feet. He is a brilliant computer whiz and can build a computer from scratch. Together, they make a wonderful team! Yes, I think they will play cat and mouse throughout Europe! Thanks Nan 🙂

  3. Hey, Amy made it into your story!! Sitting in a boat having a drink. Sounds good to me, Nan! I hope the wig looked good on me…er…I mean her. 🙂 Thrilling take!

  4. Treasure hunters always make a great story. Avarice seems to be keeping pace with other vices in this piece. You have created a great sense of conflict between desire for treasure and the love of a man in just a few words. Great job.

  5. Chris doesn’t seem like a bad sort – Amy should give him a chance. I like your story – nice action and intriguing character dynamics.

    • Dear Margaret, Maybe the attraction between them is the bantering between them. She’s sassy and he likes her that way. She is smitten with his daring lifestyle. I think they are perfect for each other. Thanks! Nan

  6. Nan,

    Good story this week. I like the hijinx here. I’m sure Amy will find it’s more fun to have a partner in crime (at least I hope that will be the case.

    All my best,
    MG

  7. You’ve set this up for a longer story. I have a feeling the treasure hunt will be something like an Indiana Jones movie. Action, adventure, and a dash of romance. Great stuff.

  8. I wondered whose picture was omitted. I wouldn’t worry about it. Great twist at the end. Her disguise didn’t work, and she’ll have to share after all. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

    • Dear Suzanne, Thanks for finding me – I’m not very computer savvy so Mike publishes all my stories and this week, he left my picture off. Oh well, I’ve let my hair grow out (I’m almost all white) and got it cut. You just can’t get good help these days. I’ll put another accurate picture when I get a round tuit. Have a great week! Nan

Leave a Reply

