Wall Street Crash

Wall Street CrashBy, Nan Claire Falkner

With a thousand dollars left in the account, Barry decided he would make his fortune on Wall Street.

He had no aptitude for this endeavor, but had read a couple of books on how to invest in stocks.

With his first investment, he felt it was a no lose effort which would pay off in the end. He was wrong.

His wife took half the money, and invested in companies that made the products in her cabinets and refrigerator. Barry took the dot com route.

When Barry got the call from his broker, he rammed his car through their office.

47 thoughts on “Wall Street Crash

  1. Dear Nan,

    It seems that she took the wiser path. Certainly driving through the broker’s office wouldn’t help. πŸ˜‰ Although it might make him feel better–for a while. Nice.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. I’m assuming his wife made the sound investment. Must admit to having dabbled with investments myself. I went for safer options and made around a 15% profit over the course of the year. Not a bad return at all.

  3. Well done. Thankfully we’ve always had financial advisers we trust.- still, we’re not bullet proof. BUT we don’t feel like driving our cars through their buildings. Great way to show total frustration, Nan.

    • Thanks Alicia! My son used to tell us to open our cupboards and refrigerator and buy your products stock. We have always been scared of the stock market but he isn’t and has done quite well. Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Bjorn, You’re absolutely right! I forgot, but see, you have to have a good broker to steer you in the right area. When we lived in Fayetteville, Arkansas, This guy tried talking us into buying shares in Wal-Mart, and we passed on it – had we done that, we wouldn’t have had to work. Live and learn! Nan πŸ™‚

  4. Dear Nan,
    An all-too familiar story. I lost my entire retirement investments twice before I turned 30. Fortunately, that was before I turned 30. Now we are scrambling a little to save for the future, but we aren’t making risky investments, that’s for sure. (I hope you character has good auto insurance–he and his broker are going to need it.)

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • Dear Randy, I think you’re right but he still is making the wrong picks – oh well. What’s that saying : “A fool and his money are soon parted!” Thanks for reading! Nan πŸ™‚

  5. I would be better off having Andy the Aardvark pick stocks for me with his nose than me choosing them. Sounds like Barry’s guy wasn’t too good at it either. I’m sure the “crash” ended their relationship. πŸ™‚

    • Dear Russell, You are probably right. Not every broker is willing to put his money where HIS mouth is. The stock market is like playing craps! Have a good week, your granddaughter is beautiful! Nan

  6. I think this kind of thing happened to quite a few people, but Barry’s response was a bit drastic – one that would likely get him locked up! I like the humour you’ve added to this, Nan. Nicely done. πŸ™‚

    • Dear Margaret, Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my story. Well, I think the stock market might as well be Greek – I don’t understand it. Have a good week! Nan πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

