Helen’s Heaven

Helen's HeavenBy, Nan Claire Falkner

They would meet in the summer house. It was silly, she knew, but every time she went there, she could almost see him in the window beckoning for her to come. Never in her wildest dreams did she think this was real, but what if?

What if he was there and she made it through the maze, would he be there really? What a lovely thought. She smiled.

“Helen, come to me now my love! I need you more than you could know!”

“Peter, wait for me. One more day!”

That night, she died in her sleep in their bed.

 

52 thoughts on “Helen’s Heaven

  1. i like this but i’m left with many questions: is she elderly? did she die of natural causes? was it suicide? how did he die? was he a secret lover? a husband? so many questions…

    • Dear ContactRida, I think they are elderly and also lost her will to live – so she probably died of natural causes. I think he was her husband, but I could be wrong. Thanks for reading! Nan 🙂

  2. Dear Nan,
    I’m glad you took this maze into the afterlife. As a child, I used to think about eternity as a maze. I imagined that I was in the center and eternity was a maze that stretched out, taking the same turns as I moved along in each direction, spreading out forever. A fun exercise, if you can hold both sides of the maze in your mind as you go along. I still think that’s the best illustration of time and eternity.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • Dear Marie Gail, Thanks for your comments. Mazes have always kind of frightened me. Your theory of eternity in a maze is really interesting – and who knows – could be just as right as anyone else’ idea. Really a lot of thought went into your response – thank you – very good! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Alicia, Thanks a lot for stopping by! My great uncle and great aunt died within weeks of each other – Uncle Laude and Aunt Anna were wonderful people. Broken hearts DO occur! Thanks! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Honie, I guess I am in a killing mood this week. I love the picture prompt and I have been in a large maze before and it was sort of scary twenty minutes into it. I waited until another couple came by and followed them out. I wasn’t scared and I don’t know why because I should have been at least nervous! Thanks! Nan 🙂

  3. This story brought to mind a poem I wrote years ago about a woman in a nursing home who dreamed of the “strong arms that once held her” and longed for the lover who had already passed over. I believe my Mother often had such dreams in the time between Dad’s death and hers. Your story brought tears to my eyes.

    • Dear Russell, I’m so glad you had an emotional attachment to my story. I hope the melancholy didn’t last too long – but sometimes that’s the only thing that works is letting it run it’s course. Sounds like your Mom was a delightful woman and truly in love with your Dad! Songs seem to have a quicker path for emotions (at least for me). Have a good week! Nan

  4. This is a beautiful love story, Nan, one that even persists into the next life. The many days of Peter’s calling are somehow answered by events of that last sentence. Helen has finally made the effort to get through the maze to Peter. I’m not sure whether the name of Peter (as in St. Peter) holds relevance. It depends on which way we read the story, I suppose. Well written, Nan. 🙂

    • Dear Indira, Thank you so very much for liking my story. I have been in a maze before and it was so tall that I couldn’t see over the sides. It did scare me a little. Good job! Thanks! Nan 🙂

  5. Good story, Nan. I think with elderly couples it happens that way many times. The mind seems to have power over the body, and I believe some people really give up the will to live and their life ends. Well done.— Suzanne

Leave a Reply

