Fixing the Electrical Box

Fixing the Electrical BoxBy, Nan Claire Falkner

Alan was working on the air conditioner located in the attic. He had taken the fuses out of the box to turn off electricity to the house.

Martha had been shopping and came home early. She decided to throw a load of laundry into the washer in the laundry room. As she screwed the fuse into the box, she heard a huge crash upstairs followed by a string of curse words that would make a sailor blush. She turned off the washing machine picked up her purse and keys and sped to the store.

At least she hadn’t killed him.

58 thoughts on “Fixing the Electrical Box

  1. Nan,
    Ouch! Yeah, it’s a good thing she didn’t kill him. It reminds me of when they were building our house and the plumber turned on the wrong water line downstairs and water started pouring out of the unfinished sink onto the floor. At least there was no bare wires then. Great story.
    -David

    • Dear David, Well, it’s been 31 years since then (we’ve been married 44 years) and I haven’t killed him yet – but he was really mad, but he should of left a note on the box – then I would have known he was there working on the electricity. Thanks for stopping by! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Plaridel, Yes, you are so right. In real life – I did go upstairs and make sure he was ok before I left. And yes, he was still mad. But it’s given us 30 years of a good story. Oh – did I say it was 210 – so he got a big wallop! Oops! In my defense, his company car wasn’t in the driveway so I thought I could maybe get a load or two of laundry done (we had 4 kids then too) but – his car was in the shop getting fixed. I’m glad he was ok. Nan

  2. Yeah, I can kind of see that happening at my place when one of us gets tired of waiting on the other to finish a task. In this case, it could have been much worse.

    Cheers!
    MG

    • Dear Marie Gail, You’re right – it was a 210 electric line – not a 110 so he really got THUMPED! He’s okay though! Happened 31 years ago – I don’t think I’ve tried to kill him since – well – there was another itsy bitsy thing . . . . Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Anita, That’s what I told him. His company car wasn’t at the house and I needed to do laundry. I didn’t know he was home – hey what about putting a note on the electric box? Thanks for stopping by! Nan πŸ™‚

  3. More evidence that air conditioning is harmful!
    We can lock our fuse box in its metal case – which makes it much safer for the man in the attic.
    Does your hubby read this? You tried AGAIN?!

    • Why no Patrick, I would never lay a hand on my hubby! He is safe as he can be around me at all times! ha ha – I didn’t try again – or did I? Can’t remember – I’ll have to ask him tomorrow morning! Thanks for coming by! Nan πŸ™‚

  4. Nan, your story is wonderful in itself, then reading that lit’s a true story makes it that much better. So glad you didn’t kill him. Love the end where Martha goes shopping. Made me laugh.

    • Dear Alicia, Thanks for stopping by! Yea, I’m glad he didn’t croak on the 240 or whatever it is. I just know it was a heck of a jolt! Doesn’t shopping cure a lot of ailments? Thanks! Nan πŸ™‚

  5. I am sure he never played with electricity again, when you within 50 miles of the house. That was a snap crackle pop that he won’t forget. Funny

  6. I did something similar to myself once. I had the impression of being thrown backwards to a wall that ended my flight. I’m wondering how she knew she hadn’t killed him, though since it doesn’t appeared she checked. I could see this as a sketch in a sit-com. πŸ™‚

    • Dear Ann, She could hear the cursing after the jolt – so she knew he was okay – Mad as hell – but okay! Thanks for reading and yes, it would be funny in a sitcom – not a murder mystery! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Perry – he was singing “All shook up” by Elvis the rest of the day! He’s fine and I (I mean Martha) did yell upstairs with no reply. I’m pretty sure she was 8 1/2 months pregnant with son #4 at the time – thank God he got to meet his Daddy! Thanks for stopping by! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Sarah Ann, That’s what I said to him also. Why tempt fate when you don’t have to. The note could have been a life saver – literally! Thank you for stopping by! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Why Randy, Do you think something was suspicious about this? No, never! I do declare, he is as safe as any husband can be! Thanks for stopping by – he really is getting a kick out of reading these replies! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Rochelle, When the colorful words erupted from Mike I was relieved – of course I heard the big thud when it knocked him backwards – then the sounds spewing from his mouth really was a relief.

  7. I think all wives do this to their men. Some sick form of electra shock therapy.
    So, why did she run to the store? To pick out a new outfit to wear to the funeral?

    • Dear Russell, Already had the little black dress – just needed accessories. Ha ha. Really, he needs to carry around a bite stick too. You are funny – and he is STILL alive! Nan

  8. I feel bad for laughing, but this was wonderfully written! This is exactly why I make sure my husband tells me BEFORE he starts working on something involving electricity.

    • Dear empeck, See, this is something couples should discuss before marriage. I mean – well – there is the occasional unexpected food poisoning, Then, you have ladders, electric hedge trimmers, plumbing all the time – and the worst – electric boxes! So, they could just remember their vows – honest – it was a mistake – I mean, an accident – I swear! I’m innocent! Nan

    • Dear Dee, I really didn’t laugh at the time either – I really was shaking when I realized what I had done. But he bounded down the stairs (still cursing) and was mad as hell (understandable). Now, when he works on electrical outlets, he makes sure that I know and then I keep watch on the light switch. Whew, that was a close one! Thanks for reading! Nan πŸ™‚

  9. Dear Suzanne, Thanks for stopping by – there really are more harrowing incidences in our marriage – some with him and some with me. Thanks goodness we can laugh at them! Nan πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

