The Legend of Ed the Edsel

The Legend of Ed the EdselBy, Nan Claire Falkner

“HELP ME!” Marv sputtered as he was pushed into the last parking place.

“Cheer up! Things could be worse. They dissolved a little blue pill in my gas tank to help with speed and endurance. It’s been over four hours now so I need you to call the shop and tell them to send the tow truck because this is a medical emergency!” Ed begged. “I can’t seem to move.”

Twenty minutes later, the new mechanic with all the answers shut the hood of the car and said “Whew, that was a close one Ed, no more pills for you!”

25 thoughts on “The Legend of Ed the Edsel

  1. Dear Nan,

    Do you know why nurses feed little blue pills to old men in nursing homes?

    It keeps them from rolling out of bed at night.

    Ed’s legend put me in mind of that tidbit. Can’t wait to get old.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Dear Russell, Ed, the gold Edsel, took the blue pills, thus his lift went up but stayed up for 4 hours – which is too long, supposedly. He asked Marv, the rust bucket Edsel to contact the service dept. for immediate, emergency help. Hope this helps! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Perry, Ed may well be a drug addict – those pesky little blue pills with all the side effects? I think that Ed needs to date cars his own age and leave the roadsters to the roadsters. Maybe he should talk to someone. . . Thanks for stopping by, Nan 🙂

  2. Ooh . . . 4 hours and a little blue pill. This story seems a bit Freudian to me. I have always appreciated the Freudian slip to the lacy pink ones that are much more uncomfortable than they look. Fun stuff, this week. I love all the places this prompt is taking us.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • Dear Marie Gail, Thanks for reading my story. Freud was nuts though – he was obsessed so I’ve always thought he probably needed a straight jacket myself. Oh well – let the academics sing his praises. I just saw the face on the shovel and thought that it was funny so – well – I let my imagination take over. Thanks for coming by! Nan 🙂

Leave a Reply

