The Fire Man Returns

Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-FieldsBy, Nan Claire Falkner

The Sister Witches chanted lyrics from the Sacred Book of Necromancy. What a glorious day this had been! First the Dark Sun appeared, then the wolves began to howl with the rising of the moon. Near the cemetery , the apparitions began to dance with the wind. The drums got louder and then all of the sudden there was eerie screaming coming from the center of the fire. It was Him and he was mad as hell. The stupid witches had forgotten to chant in unison the EverLifeAfter Decree. He exited the fire and slowly crept to the first witch.

61 thoughts on “The Fire Man Returns

  1. I have to remember this story. It is going to be great telling it to the Grandkids while we are eating s’more around the campfire this fall. … On the second thought, perhaps first I better go look up the verses to “EverLifeAfter” Decree. … Nicely done, Nan!

  2. I think I am now afraid of campfires. I’m sold!
    Nice work, Nan!

    BTW, nice to see Mike comment on my story. Mine was a little on the difficult side to write — well, easy to write, embarrassing to admit I wrote it! πŸ˜€

    • I don’t know yet Helen. The Fire Man pals around with the devil so he’s sort of a wicked hothead! I suppose I could write more, if I do, I’ll publish it too.
      Thanks Helen! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Caerlynn, Thanks for stopping by, I didn’t know if people would be able to find him in the picture or not – glad you did, and yes – Never make him angry! I love your name – it is so pretty! Thanks! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Bjorn! I love the poem! Fall is my favorite time of the year and we have trees all around out house so in Autumn, I love watching the trees turn red, yellow, golden, pinkish and every shade in between. I wrote a poem about fall years ago, and if I can find it – I’ll publish it. Have a great week, I love your writing, you are very kind to me! Thanks, Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Janet – Yes, his hot-headed friend the “Fire-Man” I couldn’t resist. The picture of him in the right side of the fire coming out just gave me the creeps – thus the birth of “Fire-Man”. Thanks Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Russell, He gets mad at everything. Satin sheets are soft, but cotton is the best to sleep on, I think. If he doesn’t like 2 T’s – 2 bad. Have a good week, Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Draliman – I saw the creature on the right front side of the fire and my imagination just popped – plus, Mike used to be a fireman when we were first married (on the Springdale, AR fire department). He was also a paramedic which came in handy when he brought our son Chris back to life after drowning in a pool in Irvine California 35 years ago. Even the doctor had given up on Chris – but not Mike (I was in Arkansas with my parents in the hospital). By the Grace of God, I still have all my babies. Sorry for running on – I always do.. Nan πŸ™‚

      • Ah ha — so I wasn’t the only one to see that “flame like whatever” then?

        Lol —- amazing what film can capture and spark and imagination.

        Great piece of flash fiction here — brilliantly written. πŸ™‚

    • Dear Rochelle, Yes, I thought I would get some funny comments about that line. Thanks for reading and I appreciate it! I enjoy this group so very much and you do a wonderful job with it! Plus, your writing is stellar! Love it! Nan πŸ™‚

  3. Nan, Good. creative story. Someone is always seeing things in a photo I miss. I went back and looked at the photo, and there was that little man walking out. Those witches may get their brooms confiscated for messing that up. I read that about your husband and son, and that was marvelous. My dad was a fire captain when he retired. He used to just hate it when tragedies involved children in any places they were called. They didn’t have perimedics yet at the stations where he worked when he retired in 1963. Well written as always. —Susan

    • Thank you Susan, So your Dad was a Captain of the Fire Department. Cool! Mike has always said that his favorite job of all time was being a fireman (and paramedic). Great times for him and thank God he knew how to save Chris! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Dawn, Thanks a lot – it is a good story to tell around a campfire. Susan saw the ‘fireman’ coming out of the fire at the bottom right hand side of the picture. He is creepy! Thanks again! Nan πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Nan. I’m wishing for a campfire to chant around. I could be a witch. πŸ™‚ I would not forget anything. I could hear the screaming coming out of the fire.

    Lily

    • Dear Lily, Witches (some of which are really dumb because they fell off their brooms one too many times) are forgetful and this time it’s going to cost them dearly! Thanks! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Yes Lisa, you’re right, one took her broom and left with the other’s broom keys so now they are really stuck. They were told to upgrade to handprint ignition – but NOOOOO – they think they know everything! Oh well, Doom and Gloom and Soon! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Plaridel – I think you’re right! I’ll make it more of a story so this fall when we’re sitting around the bonfire at one of my son’s house, we can tell ghost stories! Good idea! Thanks! Nan πŸ™‚

  5. Given all that the witches managed to achieve from a day of chanting, I dread to think what shape the even more powerful Fire Man’s wrath will take. The world will tremble, I fear ….
    I really enjoyed reading this, Nan
    SiobhΓ‘n

Leave a Reply

