The D desk

The_D_deskBy, Nan Claire Falkner

Inside her husband’s desk, Jane searched for the paper that would prove she was Dirk’s widow. The in-laws were circling and had made verbal claims to his will, but she was the only legal heir.

Clark turned and looked at her as he entered the room. “What are you looking at dear sister?” he sneered.

“A letter.”

“Did you ever find your, hmmm, marriage certificate?”

She sat down and sighed, “Yes – and a letter addressed to Mrs. Dirk Duguerre containing the license.”

“Was the marriage consummated?”

“Clark, do go away.”

“Why, pray tell?” he seethed.

“I am with child.”

52 thoughts on “The D desk

    • Years ago, it was proper to address the sister-in-law as “sister” and he was a snake in the grass brother-in-law. Now, she has the upper hand. Thanks for reading Alicia! Have a great week! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Alicia, He is her brother-in-law, years ago, they would call each other ‘sister’ or ‘brother’ for in laws. Odd I know, but it was a different time. Clark is a creep!

  1. Dear Nan,

    I’d say the answer to that question is “yes.” You set the time frame with the language. “With child” has a classier ring to it than “preggers.” 😉 Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear Rochelle, I don’t know for sure if it would be proper for a lady to tell a brother-in-law that she was “with child” but, I have heard that term when I was little growing up in Arkansas. Thanks – yes – anything is better than ‘preggers.’ Nan 🙂

  2. A nice little story; it sounds like she has every right to the inheritance. This line threw me though: ‘Clark turned and looked at her as he entered the room’. I had to read it several times; I think it might be clearer with just ‘Clark looked at her as he entered the room’. Just my opinion though!

    • Highly doubtful a hundred years ago, unless there was irrefutable evidence. Clark is a snake-in-the-grass brother-in-law. She has everything she needs. Thank you so very much for reading! Nan 🙂

  3. Nan,
    I like this story even better than your usual fare. You have skillfully woven the “period” dialog, and I think Mrs. Dugeurre and her child are going to be just fine.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • Dear Marie Gail, Thank you so much for this complement! I have written a lot of old pieces – but I’m mischievous at heart and like humor the most. Thank you so much for reading! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Dawn, Thank you so much. I know women were pushed around years ago – especially if they married someone above their station in life – sort of like in “Downton Abbey. Well, you are one of the best writers I have every read and I think you could do the sound also. I sometimes listen to the sound to see if it matches the dialect going on – and usually – unless it’s a “B-movie” it does! Thanks! Nan 🙂

  4. Dear Nan, she has the marriage certificate & I guess no problems to stake claim on his fortune.
    Sad when loved ones pass away. Even sad that she’s pregnant & their child won’t get to meet his dad…
    Nicely expressed 🙂

  5. Nan, Well, that settles it. The only problem I see is if she has to live with that family. They could still make her life miserable. If she has money though, she may be able to kick them out of “her” house. She should do so as soon as possible. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  6. wonderfully written, Nan…i sense however, that Clark character would stoop so low as to accuse the child not to be from her deceased husband. some people get so desperate and try anything…you know?

    • Dear Sun, Well, then I will have to come up with something else – like – her dead husband had six toes and the baby is born with six toes. How’s that? I really did know a guy in college that had six toes – he was so good looking – but we were just friends. He was always cracking jokes about it. Nan 🙂

  7. I say Clark seems like a poor, ignorant, malicious, short-sighted, crapulous mass. But that’s so nineteenth century.
    Loved the period-piece feel to this story. Miss Austen would have been proud.

    • Dear Subroto, Thank you so much – I love your adjectives and they are all right-on! Clark is a snake-in-the-grass creep and now she out-smarted him by getting pregnant! Nan 😉

  8. Nicely done, Nan. The dialogue is realistic and well thought out. I think Clark really should just go away! That snake. And, now that she’s with child, she may want to run away from this family.

    • Dear Amy, She has the money now, the heir, and I’d boot them all out of the house or mansion or manor or whatever. She will probably look over her next husband’s relatives before she agrees to marry him. Thanks for reading! Nan 🙂

  9. Well thank heaven she found the letter and and licence because with family like this she’s going to need every piece of legal paper she can get her hands on.“Was the marriage consummated?” – who does this Clark guy think he is! Her weariness with the whole thing is quite apparent. Poor woman.

    • Dear Sarah Ann, True and she will win in the end, because she is giving birth to the heir and found the paperwork she needed! Funny thing and true – we were married 20 years before I realized we didn’t have a copy of the marriage license. I wrote to the State of Arkansas and requested 2 copies, I had to send a copy of my birth certificate – but I had that and now 2 copies of my license. We had a double wedding (with my twin sister) and Ann received hers, but we never got ours in the mail. Oh well, at least it got rectified. Thanks for stopping by! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Plaridel, Maybe she will have the child after she has kicked the worthless in-laws out of the house. Then she could have a happy life afterwards, I hope. Nan 🙂

  10. I do believe we need to see the departure of dear Clark, the creep. I likes this story. So she’s with child. Ha, ha, ha.. She’ll need to be careful and look around before she descends any long staircases. Very well told. Lucy

Leave a Reply

