Don’t Follow the Herd

Don't Follow the Herd

By, Nan Claire Falkner

Few escaped the shears, but Matilda wasn’t ready to give up her coat just yet. She had a black and white face and was running for her life. “How come they steal our wool?” she wondered.

She ducked behind the blue and white direction sign, waited for the right moment, then merged into the herd that had already been sheared.

“Gosh that was a close call!” she told her friend Bertha that had not been as lucky.

“Where’s our Union Rep?” Bertha said, “He nicked me on my behind this time and it hurt! He drew blood!”

Matilda added. “Ewe!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

50 thoughts on “Don’t Follow the Herd

    • Dear Sandra, Ewe make me laugh so much and I enjoy your stories so much and of course all the wonderful pictures you have submitted! You wrote that you had just enough time to get up the hill from the river to take the pictures and could hear the bells from your boat. What a charmed life you live and envious am I! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Rochelle, Thanks so much – I love the picture and have read several stories from Sandra Crook – gosh she is so talented! Fun week! Thanks Rochelle, Nan 🙂

    • Dear Hugamama, I say let thy sheep GO! They give the shirts, coats, moccasins, off their back to their human owners and that should be enough! There is enough food in the world without going all mutton on them! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Draliman, Matilda is going through the ‘change’ so she is NEVER cool enough. Oh well, she is clever! Thanks so much for stopping by and reading my story! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Susan, Matilda was the Gold Medal Winner in the sheep Olympics in Auckland in 2012. She could teach them all how to escape. I think I read somewhere that the longest a sheep and escaped the shears was six years and the wool was almost too matted to cut and dense. Thanks for stopping by! Nan 🙂

  1. Personally, I like a short haircut in the summer. Bertha needs to find a different stylist. I say NO TIP for that barber. Poor Matilda is going to look wild and wooly and won’t be invited to the baaaaall.

    • Your right Russell! Bertha does need to frequent a new stylist. I think it only makes sense to cut the wool in the summer. But, when they go to the baaaaall, they can listen to Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs playing “Woolly Bully.” Thanks for reading! Nan

    • You are right Bjorn, a union rep would help and help a lot! Gosh, I hope they aren’t ready for chopdom! That is so baaaaaaad! Thanks for reading my story and commenting! Nan 🙂

    • Dear Miss Tiffany, Thanks for reading my story! I had to laugh myself. We’re poor little sheep who have lost our way. Except for Matilda and Bertha’s adventures, life would be boring for those poor little sheep! Thanks again! Nan 🙂

    • Thanks for reading my story and commenting! Yes, Spotface Local #101 will make a really big issue out of the abuse of the poor nicked Bertha! Matilda will have a hard time bellying up to the bar! Nan 🙂

    • Why thank you Joanna. Very kind of you and I’ve read ALL the submissions this week, it’s 4:12 AM on Tuesday morning, time to go to bed. Have a wonderful week! Nan 🙂

  2. AnElephantCant make a bad pun
    Some of the above comments make him nearly weep
    If they get any dafter
    He is helpless with laughter
    He needs a nap now so he counts a few sheep

Leave a Reply

