The Truth About the BAT Theatre

studio-lights-from-kent

studio-lights-from-kent

By, Nan Claire Falkner

The BAT Theatre was famous, but it had a creepy legend. Out of town actors, scoffed at the myth only to leave in a wheel chair. A Priest sprinkled Holy Water and tried blessing it. Pappy, the owner, had promised his wife, Goggie on her death bed, he wouldn’t demolish it.

Kathleen, the organist had allergies, so she hired a new maid, Wanda Woman. Wanda climbed up a ladder and began dusting, hitting her head on the ugly light fixture as two wires fell off the top.

Since then, the creepy bat lantern only glows when no one is around.

47 thoughts on “The Truth About the BAT Theatre

    • Thanks Rochelle, not a very good story this week, I have too much going on this week. Hope to do better Wednesday. Thanks and I’m glad you mentioned about just reading the 5 in front and the 5 in back plus my favorites. Right now is 5:38 AM and I haven’t gone to bed yet – dear me, busy, busy weekend! Thank you so much for hosting this! Nan πŸ™‚

      • We all must live within our priorities. Sometimes for me driving the country side is a priority over writing and housework! And we all hope to do better next week. But know this, you are not late. Rochelle puts the prompt up on Wednesday, ideally to give you until Friday to post. So you are probably right on time.

        For my schedule if I don’t post on Wednesday morning it’s not going to happen because I go back to work and I work 12 hour nights.

    • Hi, thanks for reading, yes – I didn’t have enough time to explore Goggie’s death did I? Oh well, my story this week was a little lame and I hope to have a better one next week. Thanks, Nan πŸ™‚

    • Welcome to FFF, and thanks for reading my story. Ok, Wanda Woman now works for the widowed banker and just had some plastic surgery. She just released her memoirs on third bathroom stall at the LongBranch Bar and Grille. She also plays chopsticks on the the piano, reads to kids on Thursdays at the local library, won first place in a Paint By Number Contest, and donates blood every six weeks. How’s that? Thank you so very much for reading my story – I truly appreciate your kindness.! Come back or, better yet, join our Motley Crew led by Rochelle Wishoff-Fields who is our Friday Flash Fictioneers Fearless Femme Fatalle.

    • Helena, you are so funny! Wanda Woman now works for the widowed banker and just had some plastic surgery. She just released her memoirs on third bathroom stall at the Dam Bar and Grille. She also plays chopsticks on the the piano, reads to kids on Thursdays at the local public library, and won first place in a Paint By Number Contest, at the County Fair last Summer. She also donates blood every six weeks. At last news, she is learning how to shuffle cards with her feet.

  1. Nan, your whole story was a surprise to me because I was expecting something about bats, the flying kind. πŸ™‚ Then after reading, I was thinking about the bat cave ala Batman. I think I’d best have some breakfast. My brain is starting to short out. πŸ™‚ As for as writing, you’re not late until after the following Tuesday night when the link page is closed and as for real life, it had better take priority. I liked the name “Wanda Woman” which sounds so much like Wonder Woman. After all, she did wonders for the theater.

    janet

  2. Great spooky tale. And maybe a bit tongue in cheek? (Wanda Woman?) Theatres are always haunted, aren’t they? I’m inclined to present the question however: if the bat lantern only glows when no one is around, how does anybody know it glows only when no one is around? πŸ™‚

      • When I was in college, supposedly one of the Professors put out a final with one word: WHY? Eveyone had brought their ‘blue books’ to write in and several had written for the whole period which was 2 hours. However, one of the students, opened his ‘blue book’ and wrote 1 word in his booklet: “Because!” He got an A. Don’t know, and I really don’t care to know, but I always thought it was brilliant! Thanks Ann! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Dear Patrick, I don’t know about bats. They make me feel creepy-crawly. Well, who can tell where that light fixture came from – honestly, I think all stages are spooky. Why else would you have to tell someone to “Break a leg!” for good luck? Thanks for reading! Nan πŸ™‚

    • Chris, thanks for reading. Wanda Woman is a lush, she cleaned my house once and I couldn’t find my dust bunnies for 4 weeks – and they just reappeared like magic! Thanks for commenting and congratulations on your sale!

  3. I like the touch of the widower refusing to pull the place down – and the final line especially! I found the comma placement confusing in places. for example “Kathleen, the organist, had allergies” would be better, because her job title is the subclause. But I understand what it’s like to write in a rush – mine was this week too.

    • I have trouble with commas sometimes, and it’s not like I haven’t learned that in school. It seems the older I get, the less I am sure about spelling, commas, and bridge bidding. Sorry. Thanks for reading me though – I love your writing! Nan πŸ™‚

    • This is a fabulous idea! I mean it – can you imagine a bat looking light fixture dive bombing at the guests in a Haunted House? I REALLY (and I mean this truly) HATE bats, spiders, snakes, scorpions, and other biting, creepy, flying critters who have escaped from the Adams Family Home. I believe they live down the street from me. You know – β€œThey’re creepy and they’re cooky, they’re all together spooky . . . . Thanks, Nan πŸ™‚

  4. Looks like all that spooky light needed was a good cleaning by Wanda Woman to put him in his place. Maybe he thought she bopped him on purpose to scare him. Anyway, it worked. Good and funny story. Well done. πŸ™‚

  5. Nan, Hard story to write about. But, you did a good job with your imagination. I want to know if Wanda filed for workmens comp. She was cleaning the light fixture. To many dust Bats. Ann

  6. So if the light flows only when nobody around, how do we know our glows? Perhaps it is related to refrigerator light? The world may never know what happens when the door is shut.

  7. BAT theatre- very clever! I would think twice about visiting a theatre with that name! It makes me wonder why Goggie made her husband promise not to take the light down…did she perhaps put a curse on it?! I’ve been watching a lot of Supernatural lately, and this sounds like the beginning to one of their very intriguing episodes! Well done!

Leave a Reply

