After the Storm

Image

By, Nan Claire Falkner

The Road to town was a canal now – a waterway that could be navigated by anyone willing to leave the safety of home and venture out.
 
Crops ruined, and several head of cattle missing.  Each time they had picked themselves up and started over but now, with David gone, she didn’t know what to do.  Soon, the vultures would be circling.  The bankers and the blood sucking lawyers would demand payment in full.

One envelope left from David to help her through this.  As she opened it, the sun streamed through the windows and she smiled – he had foreseen this.

62 thoughts on “After the Storm

  1. This story reminds me of when I was a kid growing up on the farm — playing after the storm, Carefree, and didn’t know that Mom and Dad were financially struggling.

  2. Hi Nan. I read all of your stories and liked them all. How do I get on this writing thing. I think I would really enjoy doing some stories. You did a good job of using family names in your stories.
    JIM SNOW

    • Thanks Russell, and thanks for telling me about Friday Flash Fictioneers. I have really enjoyed this – more than I would have imagined. I used to do mock humorous newsletters zinging someone on their birthday. The last one was for my son’s 40th birthday. I started doing these before I was 40. It’s fun! You are an excellent writer and I enjoy your humor too. Tell Connie Hi! Nan

  3. Your story made the sun shine for me here in the Pacific Northwest where the skies are grey and rain threatens to fall at any moment. Hugs for lighting up my part of the world!

  4. your story reflects a person who truly cared deeply and kept a look out for impending dangers. i enjoyed your story, especially with the happy ending. ♥

  5. Considering all the problems we’re having (not me!) here in the UK with flooding, there are many who would like such an envelope right now. I like happy endings like this. They are an antidote to doom and gloom. Thank you. Ann

Leave a Reply

